Getting back into writing. =)

I can’t wait to start adding more of my work to this blog! I just added three of my favorite “Written Portraits,” which are profiles of some of the lovely people I know.

I am also excited about different things I am working on. For example, I’m looking forward to writing an article about a bowling alley lane being turned into a table!

I am also thinking about entering a one-act play contest I recently learned about. I may revise The Not-So-Lovely Tale of Strawberry Fructose, Murder at Vinnie’s, Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Wed or Moran, but I’m not sure which one I’d pick. And of course, I could always write a new one or adapt it from a short story. ;D

Oh yeah, and I’m revising a short story too. It was my film-noir, Edward-Hopper inspired short story for my Art History class in senior year. I’m working to make it slicker, more genre and more thrilling than before.

Edward Hopper. Nighthawks. 1942. Oil on canvas.

About Summer Dawn Hortillosa

Summer Dawn Hortillosa is a journalist specializing in arts and entertainment. Among other things, she is also an award-winning playwright, director, singer-songwriter and actress. Her work has been seen in The Jersey City Independent, The Jersey Journal and other publications.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting back into writing. =)

  1. reg e gaines says:

    Summer, my name is reg e gaines. I am a two time Tony Award nominated playwright and a Grammy nominated lyricist and Jersey City resident. I will be in NYC serving as artistic director of the 2011 Downtown Urban Theater Festival as well as facilitating workshops and doing poetry readings. I am scheduling a series of poetry as theater workshops at the Jersey City Performing Arts High School, (formerly PS 41) and inviting them to rehearsals of Lesson On The A Train, which I am directing as part of the festival. They are also being invited as a group to atten the April 16 performance of A Train at the Manhattan Movement ART center. You might want to cover the workshops at the high school in order to bring attention to the school’s Drama Dept, which due to budget cuts, is being treated like an orphan. I’ve read some of your writing and you obviously have a love of theater. This type of publicity for the students and the school might make a difference in some very talented young people’s lives.

    PEACE
    reg e gaines

Leave a Reply

