First time covering an event on-site!

This week I did some new, exciting things!

On Tuesday, I had to interview Nimbus Dance Works Artistic Director Samuel Pott for an article I was doing on his company’s upcoming production, “Jersey City Nutcracker.” Pott told me he and the company were going to be doing outreach performances at the Jersey City Medical Center and that we could meet afterward. Knowing Brownstone Diner was right across the street, I enthusiastically agreed to this plan. Getting work done and chowing down on Belgian waffles? Sounded good to me.

I went into the medical center, not realizing that Nimbus was performing as part of the center’s tree lighting ceremony. The Bryan Beninghove trio was playing and getting everyone into a Christmasy mood and the hospital’s president/CEO Joseph Scott came to light the tree after all the performances were done.

I was there, of course, mainly to get some shots of the company’s dancers and maybe even some video. I generally succeeded but had a really hard time because the dancers were often performing in front of these really large windows. I tried standing off to the side to get better angles but things weren’t any easier–the dancers were moving way too fast and my shutter speed is horrible.

Eventually, I realized I could take video of the performance from the upstairs balcony. It was the perfect angle! Now if I ever cover a JCMC event again, I’ll know what to do.

In other news, I have completed my first revision of my play “Murder at Vinnie’s” which I hope to enter into a one-act play contest. I will revise it a couple more times and then also work on “The Not-So-Lovely Tale of Strawberry Fructose” or “Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Wed.” Which reminds me…I need to register all my plays with the Writer’s Guild of America. Ahh, so much work to do!

Here are some of the pictures I didn’t get to upload to a gallery for the Jersey Journal/Hudson Now:

Here are links to the blog post and article I wrote on the JCMC tree lighting and “Jersey City Nutcracker.”
Dancers, musicians and 23-month-old help start holiday season at Jersey City Medical Center
‘Jersey City Nutcracker’ makes debut

“Jersey City Nutcracker,” a contemporary twist on a holiday classic, to debut

About Summer Dawn Hortillosa

Summer Dawn Hortillosa is a journalist specializing in arts and entertainment. Among other things, she is also an award-winning playwright, director, singer-songwriter and actress. Her work has been seen in The Jersey City Independent, The Jersey Journal and other publications.
This entry was posted in Journalism, Online, Plays, Print, Theater and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

