Busily bringing in the new year, favorite photos from 2010

I’ve come a long way in the past year and I’m excited about the next one. Not super duper excited, I guess, but optimistic.

From a photoshoot in February for my Photoshop class. Photo by Mark deGuzman, everything else by Tracy Goycochea

Since January 2010, I have completed my Associate’s degree, taken a Harvard course and proven that I can get Cambridge-quality As, completed an internship with The International, landed a new internship at the Jersey Journal and written/revised many stories, songs and plays.

The monster surprised me with a trip to Madame Tussauds in April. Yao Ming pwned me.

I’ve grown more skeptical of traditional education and the educational system. I’ve become even more independent. I am now more self-aware as well as ready and willing to find ways to improve myself. Finally, praise God, I am moving forward.

For my birthday in June, Johnny brought me to the Museum of Natural History. I found this penguin puppet in the gift store.

Besides it being New Year’s and all, today–well, yesterday,–I did some significant things. I had to work at the Jersey Journal while pretty much everyone else was off so that the blog could have content on it all day. I covered a lovely dinner at a local Baptist church, had a miserable time doing a man-on-the-street resolution story and was bombarded by phone calls from people complaining about the snow clean-up after Sunday’s blizzard.

Me and Sarah all aglow at the gorgeous Marina in December. Yay Christmas lights!

Also, I submitted the newly-revised version of my play Murder at Vinnie’s to The Theater Company’s One Act Play Festival Contest.

Vinnie’s has come a long way since I wrote it in 2007. It now has tighter lines, a few more puns and silly jokes, and an entirely new section where each character is interrogated. I’ve also made the dialogue more consistent.

The critique I’ve received most often, however, is that there is no character development. Arguably, development isn’t really the focus of the play. It’s just silly fun and if it has a theme at all, it would be about the general tendencies of people to selfishly follow their own agendas and choose to see things only in the way they see them. This is a theme that doesn’t need to be explained through development.

Still, I’d like to see if I can rewrite it to have more depth. Who knows?

Hopefully I’ll win. Then I can watch it being performed and really figure out where I need to fix it. Yay!

I’m going out and doing more things, I’m growing and I’m bringing in the New Year!

P.S. My resolutions? Take more pictures, be more passionate, write more, get my life in order, grow closer to God, finish my education, spend more time with loved ones and love life more.

About Summer Dawn Hortillosa

Summer Dawn Hortillosa is a journalist specializing in arts and entertainment. Among other things, she is also an award-winning playwright, director, singer-songwriter and actress. Her work has been seen in The Jersey City Independent, The Jersey Journal and other publications.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

