A moment of inspiration

Today I got to see writer Reginald Gaines work with some kids in the visual and performing arts program in Jersey City and it really made me miss doing theater.

Also, it was nice to end the day with something fun, entertaining and inspiring considering I had a pretty stressful few hours at work writing tons of articles.

Reg helped the kids understand the power of words, rhythm, timing, levels and balance. Like how using monosyllables or repeated words as a chance to play with emphasis and the different connotations a word can have or how moving through different emotions at a fast pace reflects our quick-change digital world.

At the workshop, kids had to take songs and turn them into monologues and I thought they did really well.

I think I’m going to try writing a dramatic play, which to date, I have not really done successfully.

Actually, I finished a dramatic radio play last week – I took my short story “Secrets; Love” and adapted it for the BBC radio play contest but I missed the deadline by a few hours. Stupid me, I forgot to check which time zone they were going to use as their deadline. Boo.

But where could I even have a radio play produced? Regardless, I am more passionate about the stage so I have to get cracking on possible plot ideas soon. Maybe I’ll start with a one act.

Thanks Reg, for inspiring me today!

About Summer Dawn Hortillosa

Summer Dawn Hortillosa is a journalist specializing in arts and entertainment. Among other things, she is also an award-winning playwright, director, singer-songwriter and actress. Her work has been seen in The Jersey City Independent, The Jersey Journal and other publications.
This entry was posted in Plays, Theater. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

