21st birthday goal accomplished (sort of)!

So one of my goals was to write two one-act plays or a full-length play before I turned 21.

Well, I turn 21 on Wednesday and I am proud to say that I have accomplished my goal.

I probably spoke about this before, but I adapted my short story “Secrets; Love” into a radio play with the intention of entering it in a radio play contest but I just missed the deadline.

A fake movie poster I made in 2010 based on "Secrets; Love"

I can, however, submit the play at a later date and hope to have it somehow produced someday.

Basically, it’s about a man who commits acts of violence against some of the people closest to him because he is incapable of understanding love. The tragic love story is told mostly through the eyes of his daughter and his next-door neighbor.

In the radio play, the listener’s blindness is exploited to build suspense. Also, the way the story is told/unfolds is slightly altered.

The play is about 50 pages long (that’s 9,113 words) and is a full-length play, at least in radio terms. If it were adapted for the stage or for film, however, it would most likely be 90 minutes or so with actions and sequences included.

So, yeah, I think that pretty much counts as a full-length play. Now to have it produced!

About Summer Dawn Hortillosa

Summer Dawn Hortillosa is a journalist specializing in arts and entertainment. Among other things, she is also an award-winning playwright, director, singer-songwriter and actress. Her work has been seen in The Jersey City Independent, The Jersey Journal and other publications.
This entry was posted in Plays, Theater. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 21st birthday goal accomplished (sort of)!

  1. reg e gaines says:

    If you don’t believe, who will? Congrats on finishing the play.

    PEACE
    r.e.g.

Leave a Reply

