Hurricane Irene tries to ruin my life

Flooding behind City Hall in Jersey City after Hurricane Irene.

Hurricane Irene tried to ruin my life this weekend and as of right now, I’m not sure if my house is flooded but my mother and I are fine, thank goodness. My friends and family helped us save a lot of our stuff in case our basement apartment got flooded, so yay to them!

I stayed with my best friend Sarah Rose Villafuerte and we took pictures from her 7th-floor apartment’s window. I took Sarah’s pictures and made a gallery of hurricane aftermath photos on NJ.com/hudson before anyone else on our staff did, woohoo. The Jersey Journal has had a rough time today; power went out at the office.

I hope everyone made it out all right. And hopefully, all my stuff is okay!

About Summer Dawn Hortillosa

Summer Dawn Hortillosa is a journalist specializing in arts and entertainment. Among other things, she is also an award-winning playwright, director, singer-songwriter and actress. Her work has been seen in The Jersey City Independent, The Jersey Journal and other publications.
This entry was posted in Journalism, Online. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

