Published Articles 9/12/11 – 9/17/11; New York Fashion Week, making Page One

This week has been exhausting, not just because I’ve had tons of stories to do but because I took off Wednesday to go to New York Fashion Week and see Nanette Lepore and Milly by Michelle Smith shows (thanks to fashion writer Adam Robb) and therefore had to work on Saturday for The Jersey Journal. I had to go to Union City, Hoboken and the southernmost tip of Bayonne all in the same day – nuts!

Overall, I enjoyed this week a lot and experienced some fun things. For example, at Fashion Week, the sponsors had these little kiosks. At Maybelline’s kiosk, you got a free shade of bright fuchsia lipstick and a photographer would snap a black-and-white photo of you in which only your lips would appear colored (just like in the Maybelline Fashion Week ads!) Here’s a picture of me at the kiosk:

Also, one of my stories made the cover this week! Peter Cammarano, former Hoboken mayor sentenced to 24 months on corruption charges, was transferred to a halfway house. I’ve only made the cover a couple times before, so this is still super exciting for me, haha.

The Jersey Journal's front and back pages, Friday, Sept. 16, 2011. (Click for stories!)

Lastly, I interviewed some awesome people. Don Stitzenberg of the Hudson Riverfront Walkway Conservancy, Dave Feldman of Wyldlife, Paul Sorvino and more.

I’ve been on my new beats for about half a month now and I’m exhausted, but to be honest, I’m starting to have some fun. I’m doing more than ever before and I’m super busy but really, I enjoy life more that way.

News:

Entertainment/Features

About Summer Dawn Hortillosa

Summer Dawn Hortillosa is a journalist specializing in arts and entertainment. Among other things, she is also an award-winning playwright, director, singer-songwriter and actress. Her work has been seen in The Jersey City Independent, The Jersey Journal and other publications.
This entry was posted in Journalism, Online, Print and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Published Articles 9/12/11 – 9/17/11; New York Fashion Week, making Page One

  1. Nicole says:

    All of this is so impressive! Congratulations on making the front page! That’s something to be so proud of/brag about!
    I love your blog – there are so many different things to read.

Leave a Reply

