Published Articles 11/7/11 – 11/12/11; Election Night, Hoboken Music Awards

This week was one of my hardest so far with my first American election (did a story on Afghanistan’s last year) and breaking news about a former Hoboken IT officer being charged with hacking into the mayor’s emails. The latter took me into Newark to head to Federal Court. While blogging about the case at a local restaurant, I saw a car accident take place and then a few minutes later ran into Occupy Wall Street kids – the news was following me!

And then I was invited by local band Cecilia Celeste and Hoboken Music Award founders Dave Entwistle and Stephen Bailey to the awards on Saturday, which I ended up blogging live. Now this sounds kind of silly since I’ve now had to do Election Night and the earthquake and such, which were definitely blogging challenges, but – this was the hardest blogging assignment of my life.

The award ceremony was held at Maxwell’s and featured several sets by local bands who were nominated for Hobeys. Maxwell’s is a rock club, so it has padded walls (read: almost impossible to get air card to work!). People were super noisy even through the announcement of the names, I was short so it was hard to get clear photos of the bands from the back where I was sitting (and I was on the highest bleacher there) and I had no consistent power source. Through lots of pre-writing, quick blogging and repeated power-runs to the restaurant portion of Maxwell’s, however, I was able to get it all done!

Also, I was able to speak with my friends John Meuser, Sarah Villafuerte and Mark DeGuzman (who got his first printed by-line in The Jersey Journal yesterday! Yay!) about my latest revision of “Senses,” so I am making progress creatively too. =)

(Actually, I might be having some music projects coming up soon too. Yay!)

News:

Entertainment/Features

Election Night

Hoboken Music Awards

About Summer Dawn Hortillosa

Summer Dawn Hortillosa is a journalist specializing in arts and entertainment. Among other things, she is also an award-winning playwright, director, singer-songwriter and actress. Her work has been seen in The Jersey City Independent, The Jersey Journal and other publications.
This entry was posted in Journalism, Online, Print and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Published Articles 11/7/11 – 11/12/11; Election Night, Hoboken Music Awards

  1. thewho1971 says:

    I read the article about the Hoboken IT officer on the path last night. Thursday’s edition was on the train. Great story.

Leave a Reply

