Published Articles 11/14/11 – 11/19/11

So let me say this now – this week was so. Slow. But I found pleasure in some simpler things.

I went to the first Just Add Laughs open mic in Made with Love Artisan Bakery and Cafe with my good friend/co-worker M. G. De Guzman, saw “Two-Man Kidnapping Rule” and discovered some awesome art when I went with Jersey City artist Milosz Koziej and got an exclusive preview of his fantastic show “now and here.”

I’m making a more concentrated effort to get out there and really appreciate art. I was bored one day so I headed to LITM in Jersey City and saw “Rescue Me,” an art show that will benefit animals and Tim Heins’s “Fortress Paintings” in the Majestic Theatre Condominiums lobby (curated by my fellow art-writer Brendan Carroll). I’m hoping to get stories up about them next week.

Also, I went to a Thanksgiving senior luncheon with some politicians like Hoboken Housing Authority Executive Director Carmelo Garcia and Senator Robert Menendez. And let me tell you, me gusta mucho cuando los políticos traducen sus dichos en español para los hispanohablantes. That is, I like when politicians translate their remarks into Spanish for Spanish-speaking people. It’s just really nice!

I also had some best-friend time with Sarah Rose Villafuerte and “T-time” with our Jersey City reporter, Terrence T. McDonald, to finish out the week, which was awesome.

I sort of needed a chill week since I’m getting kind of sick and have been working on my short story “Senses” a lot. I don’t, however, like when things are slow to the extent that I’m continually searching and searching for more things to do. Hopefully, next week will be a little more exciting.

News:

Entertainment/Features

About Summer Dawn Hortillosa

Summer Dawn Hortillosa is a journalist specializing in arts and entertainment. Among other things, she is also an award-winning playwright, director, singer-songwriter and actress. Her work has been seen in The Jersey City Independent, The Jersey Journal and other publications.
This entry was posted in Journalism, Online, Print and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

