Published Articles 12/19/11 – 12/31/11; Christmas and New Year’s

The last two weeks of the year have been crazy with stories like the death of former freeholder Maurice Fitzgibbons and a violent Christmas weekend crime spree in Jersey City, which made the cover. I was especially happy with my Christmas crime coverage, which I did with help from JJ reporter Travis Fedschun, because I also compiled all nine crime reports into a nice, cohesive piece. I also got to do a bit of editing on our after-Christmas shopping piece.

I also had some fun assignments like going to eateries in Hoboken to see what they were doing for the holidays (and getting some delicious food while I was at it!) Also, I put together a piece on our most-read Hoboken Now stories and I did stories for about eight of them! Que bueno!

I wish I had more entertainment articles, but there have been so few events and such actually on holiday weekends.

I am, of course, busy enough with my own entertainment story – the production of my play “Secrets; Love.”

Overall, past couple weeks have been pretty awesome. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, everyone!

News:

Christmas weekend crime (cover story 12/27/11)

Entertainment/Features:

About Summer Dawn Hortillosa

Summer Dawn Hortillosa is a journalist specializing in arts and entertainment. Among other things, she is also an award-winning playwright, director, singer-songwriter and actress. Her work has been seen in The Jersey City Independent, The Jersey Journal and other publications.
This entry was posted in Journalism, Online, Print and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

