Published Articles 2/13/12 – 2/18/12; Last full-time day at the JJ

This was my last full-time week at The Jersey Journal, so I spent a good amount of time actually just wrapping things up. For example, I created a guide on how to organize our Prom Picture Challenge, which will be happening probably from May to June this year, and hopefully for several years afterward. It’s an awesome way of engaging our younger readers and I’m proud to have originated the idea.

Alas, here are some of my last projects. I have a few things still waiting to be printed and I will be freelancing for The Jersey Journal – most likely for its arts and entertainment Weekend Urge section, for which I have been the primary content writer over the past year – so I’m still going to pop in the paper every week, hopefully.

I learned so much from my 15 months at the Journal and am so glad to have worked with all the editors, staffers and interns at the paper. I got to do blogging, social media management, news reporting, beat reporting, entertainment and features writing, laying out pages, training other staff members and more. I also got the chance to create my own opportunities, like creating our Photo of the Day feature on Facebook, an online Police Beat Roundup and some photo challenges. It was super fun and I will miss seeing everyone’s lovely faces every day.

On to the stories!

News:

Entertainment/Features:

About Summer Dawn Hortillosa

Summer Dawn Hortillosa is a journalist specializing in arts and entertainment. Among other things, she is also an award-winning playwright, director, singer-songwriter and actress. Her work has been seen in The Jersey City Independent, The Jersey Journal and other publications.
This entry was posted in Journalism, Online, Print and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Published Articles 2/13/12 – 2/18/12; Last full-time day at the JJ

  1. I remember you bringing the paper into work with you’re first story in it and Olive asked you to autograph the paper. An amazing 15 months of first rate journalism, you opened my eyes and enlightened me to many things with your articles and I thank you for that. To sum it all up Summer: GROOVY.

Leave a Reply

