‘Secrets; Love’ has successful run in Hoboken!

“Secrets; Love” ended its run at the Monroe Center Theatre Space in Hoboken with an amazing performance last night and we’re all excited about heading to the Downtown Urban Theater Festival next Wednesday!

The show was the best it’s ever been and I’m so thankful that God gave me such a talented cast and crew as well as amazingly steadfast supporters like the Monroe Center, Doug Bauman Photography and All Kinds of Whoopie gourmet whoopie pies.

I’d also like to thank each and every single member of our audience for coming out and supporting our production and enjoying the show. I personally saw some of my dearest friends and family members from so many different avenues of my life and was touched to see them come together to enjoy my play. I am also happy to announce that we broke even and will most likely have enough profits to make a modest donation to the National Coalition Against Domestic Violence.

Our Digital Playbill is available at our Facebook page and contains my formal thank-you letter to everyone, but I figured I’d post it here as well:

In Memory of Dr. Sara Solberg and Thomas J. O’Shaughnessy. Sara, I remembered courage. Osh, I remember all of you at McNair.

Dear Friends and Fellow Theater Lovers,

In 2010, “Secrets; Love” was a short story inspired by a friend’s experience in jury duty. Today, it is a stage play with lights, curtains, tape, props and real feeling, birthed by the collaboration and hard work of my talented cast and crew.

This is my first full-length drama and I am greatly honored that it was selected for the 10th annual Downtown Urban Theater Festival. I am grateful that the festival’s organizers including Marc Newell, Oddette Davis, stage manager Andrea Kung and Artistic Director Reg E. Gaines, have pushed and guided me from the beginning. I thank them for their belief that it all starts with the playwright and for their determination to help playwrights discover new things about themselves and their work. Also, it is a dream come true to have my play staged at the HERE Arts Center.

I am also extremely proud to be showing at the Monroe Center Theatre Space, a place where I have been fantastically entertained many times before. I give much thanks to the Monroe Center for the Arts, our official sponsor, who generously donated rehearsal space so we could make theater magic. This production would not have been possible without the kindness, guidance and help of people like Hershy Weiss and Godfrey Pereira.

I’d also like to thank our supporters – audition venue Art House Productions, Monroe Center concessions vendor All Kinds of Whoopie and Doug Bauman Photography, which provided our rehearsal photos and headshots.

And of course, thank you to Assistant Director Liliane Wolf, Stage Manager Peter Schmidt, Music Producer Kevin Thompson and each and every member of our amazing cast. You’ve all worked so hard with me to put this together and have done some truly amazing things.

Last but not least, thanks to you, the audience members, for coming out and supporting emerging artists. Together, we hope to bring these characters to life and take you through a suspenseful and emotional ride you won’t forget.

Summer Dawn Hortillosa
Writer/Director
68 Productions

Cheer us on as we go to compete at the Downtown Urban Theater Festivalget your tickets now!

About Summer Dawn Hortillosa

Summer Dawn Hortillosa is a journalist specializing in arts and entertainment. Among other things, she is also an award-winning playwright, director, singer-songwriter and actress. Her work has been seen in The Jersey City Independent, The Jersey Journal and other publications.
This entry was posted in Plays, Theater and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

