Fantastic art by students at McNair Academic High School in Jersey City

I recently took a trip back to my alma mater, McNair Academic High School in Jersey City (Go Cougars!) And a lot of the student art impressed me – some even blew me away. As an arts and entertainment writer, I am glad to know that there are so many young artists out there growing into people I’m going to write about someday.

Unfortunately, I don’t have the artists’ names. If y’all know, leave a comment or give a holler!

First, some reliefs in various stages of completion from Scott Mallm’s sculpture class. I love sculpture and Mr. Mallm, so I particularly enjoyed seeing these.

And now, some posters from Virginia Finn’s math classes studying unit circles:

There were a bunch of other amazing works but I wasn’t able to shoot all of them. Also, their Shakespeare Festival was held later that day and I’m proud to say MAHS could be churning out thespians, directors and other theater professionals I can write about or work with later as well.

About Summer Dawn Hortillosa

Summer Dawn Hortillosa is a journalist specializing in arts and entertainment. Among other things, she is also an award-winning playwright, director, singer-songwriter and actress. Her work has been seen in The Jersey City Independent, The Jersey Journal and other publications.
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fantastic art by students at McNair Academic High School in Jersey City

  1. Virginia Finn says:

    Hi Summer,
    Just came across this…I saw where you gave a shout out Mr. Mallm….that was my class that did the Unit Circle Project.

Leave a Reply

