Day in Photos: April 4, 2012

So I bought a Canon Rebel XT from a friend yesterday and I’ve never really shot anything with more than a point-and-shoot before so today I decided to learn how to use it. I don’t think I’ll be a super serious photographer, but it’s nice to have the option of taking my own shots for work and such. All in all, I’m pretty excited about my new camera!

Here are my favorites from today. Hover your mouse over the pictures for complete captions.

3:58 p.m. – Arrive in Hoboken. Take obligatory photo showcasing Hoboken’s gritty, urban landscape.

4:09 p.m. – Visit my friend Zasckia Villa at work.

4:13 p.m. – Get treated to a refreshing berry-peachy iced teaser, courtesy of Zasckia!

4:32 p.m. – Run into my successor as The Jersey Journal’s Hoboken reporter, Travis Fedschun.

5 p.m. – Visit my dear Bess Sobota at the Lana Santorelli Gallery, which is currently showing a nature-inspired show, “Atmosphere.”

6:02 p.m. – Walk from the Lana Santorelli Gallery at 628 Washington St. toward Hoboken Terminal.

6:14 p.m. – Walk along the Hudson Riverfront Walkway to get from Hoboken Terminal to Jersey City. Have Magic Hour fun!

6:31 p.m. – Become entranced by elephants at Newport.

6:39 p.m. – Walk through Town Square and along Washington Boulevard.

6:53 p.m. – Trek through Metro Plaza, home to BJ’s, ShopRite and Bed, Bath and Beyond.

7:06 p.m. – Check out Groove on Grove, featuring Jersey City band The One and Nines, emceed by Dancing Tony.

7:56 p.m. – Head home to sweet old West Side.

About Summer Dawn Hortillosa

Summer Dawn Hortillosa is a journalist specializing in arts and entertainment. Among other things, she is also an award-winning playwright, director, singer-songwriter and actress. Her work has been seen in The Jersey City Independent, The Jersey Journal and other publications.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

