Day in Photos: May 10, 2012; Governor’s Award in Arts Education ceremony in Trenton

I visited Trenton last Thursday to speak at the Governor’s Award in Arts Education ceremony at The War Memorial along with other previous winners. I received the award in 2007 after I won the New Jersey Young Playwrights Contest, an event that changed my life and that I recently reflected on at an education panel in NYU.

The ceremony was a beautiful experience and I was inspired by the talent and hard work of all the kids and educators honored that day. I got to see some of their art as well as performances and felt so happy that the world’s artist store is always being restocked with new and exciting minds, hearts and souls.

I spent most of the day walking down State Street and taking pictures, which was super fun! I love the diverse architecture in the area; I’m a sucker for architectural lines. I tried captioning everything but I had such an exhausting weekend that I only got around to posting this and I’ve forgotten what half of these buildings are, haha. If I’m wrong, please tell me!

Mouse-over for full captions.

About Summer Dawn Hortillosa

Summer Dawn Hortillosa is a journalist specializing in arts and entertainment. Among other things, she is also an award-winning playwright, director, singer-songwriter and actress. Her work has been seen in The Jersey City Independent, The Jersey Journal and other publications.
This entry was posted in Art, Events, Photography, Plays, Theater and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day in Photos: May 10, 2012; Governor’s Award in Arts Education ceremony in Trenton

Leave a Reply

