Published Articles 5/14/12 – 5/19/12; guest blog for NJ Young Playwrights Fest Blog

This was my first week news blogging for The Jersey City Independent, where I wrote several blog posts. I’m still trying to find my footing and blogging style for JCI and am also getting used to their style. So far, I’m really enjoying myself!

I also advanced the Everything Jersey City Festival for The Jersey Journal and was a guest blogger for the New Jersey Young Playwrights Festival Blog. Overall, a pretty awesome week!

P.S. Some people have been confused – I am currently still freelancing arts articles for The Jersey Journal.

The Jersey City Independent

The Jersey Journal

Also, here is an excerpt from my blog post for the NJYPF blog:

My name is Summer Dawn Hortillosa and I’m a 21-year-old playwright and journalist from Jersey City. In 2007, I won the New Jersey Young Playwrights Contest with my fractured fairy tale comedy, The Not-So-Lovely Tale of Strawberry Fructose. Recently, I directed a production of the latest play I’ve written, Secrets; Love, which was selected for the Downtown Urban Theater Festival (DUTF) in New York City.

Simply winning the contest doesn’t necessarily launch you into the world of theater, but PTNJ offers valuable experience and inspiration for many young playwrights, including myself.

There was something so magical about seeing my characters come to life, feeling the energy buzzing in the room because of my words and hearing the audience laugh at my jokes. I saw my idea completely realized – it grew in my brain, budded on the page and was born on the stage. Many young playwrights don’t ever get this chance; it’s something every festival selection’s writer should savor.

After the festival, I decided I wanted to be involved in theater in any way I could and ended up being involved in six productions that year – writing, directing, producing, acting, whatever I could.

Read the full article here.

About Summer Dawn Hortillosa

Summer Dawn Hortillosa is a journalist specializing in arts and entertainment. Among other things, she is also an award-winning playwright, director, singer-songwriter and actress. Her work has been seen in The Jersey City Independent, The Jersey Journal and other publications.
This entry was posted in Art, Journalism, Online, Plays, Print, Theater and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

