Day in Photos: Memorial Day

Today I did something revolutionary and went into New York City to just do whatever I genuinely wanted to do.

I didn’t take photos everywhere I went (i.e., Barnes and Noble, Starbucks, etc.), so there are some pretty huge gaps between shots, which is uncommon for me.

All photos taken by me. Mouse-over for full captions.

3:56 p.m. – Run into and finally meet rapper Boshia Rae Jean whom I wrote about for The Jersey Journal. You can find more information about her and her music here.

4 p.m. – Meet Christopher Ellis, who plays “Give and Take,” a variation on Turkish checkers in Union Square Park. He was playing against an adorable rollerblader named Vlad, who I think actually beat him (I was looking away as the game ended haha) but Ellis is generally known for winning, as he did against me. Learn more about Ellis and the game here.

4:13 p.m. – Meet these guys (sorry, I forgot to get your names!) who asked me to take a picture of them.

Each of them had something interesting to show me. From left to right.

4:17 p.m. – See some Occupy Yoga thing and meet photographer Gary and business student Mel.

4:54 p.m. – Meet David who plays the hurdy-gurdy.

Thass right. The hurdy-gurdy.

5:18 p.m. – Go to Madison Square Park and listen to awesome interactive sound sculptures by Charles Long.

5:23 p.m. – Pass a woman, think it’s Ilene Kristen who played Roxy on “One Life to Live” who is super talented as both an actress and singer, but then not think it’s her, but realize it’s her, but not want to interrupt her since she looks sort of upset and in a rush, cross the street, but then realize IT’S ILENE and cross back over to take this lame shot.

7:23 p.m. – Back in Jersey City, see this apparently two-dimensional building.

7:45 p.m. – Take moody self-portraits by BJ’s Warehouse.

About Summer Dawn Hortillosa

Summer Dawn Hortillosa is a journalist specializing in arts and entertainment. Among other things, she is also an award-winning playwright, director, singer-songwriter and actress. Her work has been seen in The Jersey City Independent, The Jersey Journal and other publications.
This entry was posted in Music, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day in Photos: Memorial Day

  1. Ilene Kristen says:

    Hi Summer- this is Ilene Kristen……..you really could have stopped me!!!!! You assumed I was upset and in a rush and I was neither……I was having a wonderful day with a friend of mine who doesn’t get out that often because of various illnesses . I think you have one of the only pictures of me taken from the rear …..but if you ever want to do a story about a diehard New York City performer-I’m your girl!!!!!

    • Ahh! I would’ve loved to stop you! I think you’re a great actress and singer and you were one of my favorite characters on OLTL, which I dearly miss =) If I ever get a chance to write about you for someone, I’d love to — if you’d like, drop me a line at summerhortillosa@gmail.com and I’ll contact you if I get to freelance for some NY publications.

      It was lovely (sort of) meeting you; hope to someday meet you properly! =)

Leave a Reply

