Day in Photos: June 26, 2012; winning Literature award from NJ chapter of National Society of Arts and Letters

Yesterday I had the honor of winning the Lavina Kohl Award in Literature, a permanent career award from the New Jersey chapter of the National Society of Arts and Letters. The awesome Matt Hunger wrote a bit about me and my award today in The Jersey City Independent.

At the award ceremony at the Madison Public Library in Madison, I got to perform Luz’s ending monologue from my play “Secrets; Love” as well as my short story/monologue “Something Inside That Head of Yours,” which is always a hit with audiences. I also got to see the other award winners perform and show off their work — as an arts lover and journalist, I am always delighted to see young, talented artists, singers and dancers pursuing their dreams and doing big things.

I also got to explore Madison a bit. I haven’t been there since 2007 when I attended a table reading of my comedy “The Not-So-Lovely Tale of Strawberry Fructose” when I won NJ Young Playwrights Contest.

Here’s my day in photos. Mouse-over for full captions.

About Summer Dawn Hortillosa

Summer Dawn Hortillosa is a journalist specializing in arts and entertainment. Among other things, she is also an award-winning playwright, director, singer-songwriter and actress. Her work has been seen in The Jersey City Independent, The Jersey Journal and other publications.
This entry was posted in Art, Fiction, Photography, Plays, Prose, Short Stories, Theater and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

