Original Song: ‘Quite Happy’

I had a long period of songwriter’s block but I finally got over it last month and have been churning out tunes since. Here’s one of the latest songs I’ve written, “Quite Happy,” along with its lyrics. It’s one of the ditties in my folksier mode; my other stuff tends to be soul, jazz, gospel, that sort of thing. I’m trying to do more with my music so we’ll see how that goes!

my true love rode away today
on a bicycle into the sunset
all my plans were left to decay
with my dreams that we’d make it

and i’ll never know, never know you
and i’ll never show, show you the real me
and we’ll never go, go to all those places
and i’ll always wonder what we’d be

trips across the country
millions of photographs, lots of laughs
a little family
heat between the cool sheets
making our own paths, holding hands
i think we’d be quite happy, quite happy

they said we were a perfect pair
it was even more than chemistry
but i’m guessing this is where
we split to find you and me

and i’ll never know, never know you
and i’ll never show, show you the real me
and we’ll never go, go to all those places
and i’ll always wonder what we’d be

trips across the country
millions of photographs, lots of laughs
a little family
heat between the cool sheets
making our own paths, holding hands
i think we’d be quite happy, quite happy

don’t you know, you stupid boy?
you were my first home
no one else has made me see
the future with so much hope.
quite happy
quite happy

trips across the country
millions of photographs, lots of laughs
a little family
heat between the cool sheets
making our own paths, holding hands
i know we’d be

trips across the country
millions of photographs, lots of laughs
a little family
heat between the cool sheets
making our own paths, holding hands
i know we’d be quite happy
quite happy
quite happy
happy
make me happy

About Summer Dawn Hortillosa

Summer Dawn Hortillosa is a journalist specializing in arts and entertainment. Among other things, she is also an award-winning playwright, director, singer-songwriter and actress. Her work has been seen in The Jersey City Independent, The Jersey Journal and other publications.
This entry was posted in Music, Original Songs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

