Published Articles 7/23/12 – 7/27/12; feeling awesome

This week, I realized that I’m either a really fast writer or a robot. Probably a robot.

(I’ve written a lot more than the stuff below; I just have a lot of things holding.)

My hectic schedule started this week and I had to basically work 12-hour days every day this week in order to work at Sports Illustrated and keep on top of my assignments for the Jersey City Independent. It’s a little overwhelming, but I’m really enjoying both jobs so in some ways, it doesn’t feel like work at all.

Actually, I feel like I’m really hitting my stride in multiple ways. I feel happy and fulfilled — on top of the world, sometimes. I feel anxious when I don’t have a million things to do at once and I realized that I love writing for work and writing for play. I’m feeling more confident about myself, my decisions, my work ethic and my ability to push through. I’m becoming a better writer and a better photographer. I feel like I’m doing things that will contribute to my growth and ultimate success. It’s leaking through to other parts of my life, too. I’m usually very disciplined but now I’m on fire, aware and constantly on-top of things. When I know what I have to do, I don’t hesitate but push through. I know the exact best way to execute things and multi-task and finish everything on time because I’m thinking quickly and clearly. God is blessing me a lot right now and I’m so grateful.

It’s making me a better person – or rather, a more active good person. I find myself wiping public bathroom counters, opening doors for women with strollers, and doing other little things that I know will brighten people’s days or make their lives easier.

To make it even better, I’m working on new theater stuff! One project is very close to being done and another is looking really promising. Here’s to praying for more great times.

The Jersey City Independent:

News:

Art/Entertainment:

About Summer Dawn Hortillosa

Summer Dawn Hortillosa is a journalist specializing in arts and entertainment. Among other things, she is also an award-winning playwright, director, singer-songwriter and actress. Her work has been seen in The Jersey City Independent, The Jersey Journal and other publications.
This entry was posted in Journalism, Online and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

