New performances, new plays, new journalist adventures still to come

So wow, I haven’t blogged in a long time. I’ve been insanely busy and also facing some mildly worrisome (mostly bothersome) health issues.

There’s good news, though. In February, I’m going to be performing my solo show “Kookspeak” again to open for Tony-nominated writer and spoken word poet Reg E. Gaines, whose solo show “The Last Celebrity” will be performed at Art House Productions. I’m super excited!

I’ve also been able to write a new episodic one-act play that will be a duet. It’s called “Before, After and Always,” and I’m hoping to have it produced somewhere soon. Two of the pieces are adapted from my short stories “Good bye” and “Long Lost Love Song.” It also features an original piece, “Be Longing.” Adaptation is one of my greatest talents, I think, so I’m hoping to take more of my short stories and make them theatrical pieces. I’d certainly like to make longer pieces inspired and drawing directly from some of my longer stories like “Good Understanding,” “Fit” and “Soaring Into the Light.”

I’m also working on a top-secret project that probably will not be produced anytime soon but that could be very awesome. I stopped right before writing the last scene because I didn’t want to rush it. Let’s hope that idea works….

And as a journalist, I’ve also been hustling. Obviously, Hurricane Sandy barreled through the East Coast and greatly devastated my community. (I’m going to post my reflection on the storm as a separate blog post. You can see all of JCI’s coverage, more or less, here.) I was able to do a lot of great things journalistically before, during and after the storm, so I’m very glad to have had this experience, at least in a professional sense. Personally, I was relatively unaffected by the storm, only losing power for five days. Unfortunately, I know several people who lost their homes and possessions and suffered greatly. My prayers are with them.

As an arts journalist, I have also been evolving. I finally got a chance to take the Jersey City Artists Studio Tour this year (at least for one day) and it was awesome. Check out my reflection on my “first date” with the tour here.

Also, my review of “It’s a Wonderful Life” at the Mile Square Theatre from last year was quoted on their promotional materials. Kind of awesome.

Since I know some artist heads read this, check out some calls for art in Jersey City.

Here are some of my recent published works, but jut the greatest hits, considering I haven’t blogged in TWO MONTHS (what’s wrong with me!).

The Jersey City Independent:

News:

Art/Entertainment:

The Jersey Journal:

About Summer Dawn Hortillosa

Summer Dawn Hortillosa is a journalist specializing in arts and entertainment. Among other things, she is also an award-winning playwright, director, singer-songwriter and actress. Her work has been seen in The Jersey City Independent, The Jersey Journal and other publications.
This entry was posted in Art, Fiction, Journalism, Online, Plays, Print, Prose, Short Stories, Theater and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

