Day in Photos: 1/8/13: Armitage Gone! Dance, Keith Haring, Journal Square

So last week I had a magical day walking through Jersey City. First, I went on assignment and visited Mana Contemporary to meet famed choreographer Karole Armitage so I could write a feature on her company, Armitage Gone! Dance, which is celebrating its 30th anniversary. You can read the piece, which I’m quite proud of, on the Jersey City Independent. While I was at Mana, I saw work by Keith Haring and other artists, got to have lunch with my former coworker Terrence T. McDonald from The Jersey Journal and visited the old office before doing one of my favorite things, walking downtown from Journal Square. Then I saw the opening of Norm Kirby’s show “Kirby’s Wonderland” at LITM, which I shot for JCI, and also saw Shut Up & Laugh, a comedy show at the Lamp Pot run by my buddy Joe D’Allegro.

Along the way (OK, mostly by Journal Square), I took a bunch of pictures of urban stuff because I like that. I told my cousin about my fun day and she called me an “urban princess.” I like the sound of that, haha!

Karole Armitage, right, looks on as her dancers rehearse

Dancers rehearse 'Mechanics of a Dance Machine,' a new piece that will premiere at New York Live Arts. Summer Dawn Hortillosa photo

Armitage Gone! Dance rehearses on their fourth floor studio at Mana Contemporary. Summer Dawn Hortillosa photo

A work by Keith Haring on leather at Mana Contemporary. Summer Dawn Hortillosa photo

Newark Avenue. Summer Dawn Hortillosa photo

Newark Avenue. Summer Dawn Hortillosa photo

Steaks, frys, burgers. Newark Avenue. Summer Dawn Hortillosa photo

Tonnelle Avenue. Summer Dawn Hortillosa photo

Patel's Cash and Carry on Newark Avenue. Summer Dawn Hortillosa photo

The Stanley Theater and Journal Square. Summer Dawn Hortillosa photo

The intersection of Kennedy Boulevard and Bergen Avenue. Summer Dawn Hortillosa photo

Approaching the Hudson County Bridge. Summer Dawn Hortillosa photo

Crossing the Hudson County Bridge. Summer Dawn Hortillosa photo

There is a light that never goes out. William Brennan Courthouse. Summer Dawn Hortillosa photo

About Summer Dawn Hortillosa

Summer Dawn Hortillosa is a journalist specializing in arts and entertainment. Among other things, she is also an award-winning playwright, director, singer-songwriter and actress. Her work has been seen in The Jersey City Independent, The Jersey Journal and other publications.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

