Poetry at the Scratch DJ Academy; Published Articles 2/17/14 – 2/21/14

Got the amazing honor of reading works by Amiri Baraka and my own stuff with and for the likes of my mentor and friend Reg E. Gaines and Miguel Algarin, co-founder of the Nuyorican Poets Cafe. I don’t really consider myself a poet, nor am I a huge poetry head, but I really appreciated all the amazing pieces I heard last night. Sometimes just one line of well-written poetry can be more powerful than a dozen pages of prose.

I read my monologue “Stay,” from my next one-woman show. Of the three sections, it’s the one I am the least confident about, which is why I chose it. Everyone laughed at all the right places and got great joy and meaning from the piece, and it was an absolute honor to hear poets I highly respect and admire tell me it was “very good.” I was floating on air!

The room was filled with art, poetry and inspiration at the Scratch DJ Academy

Also, the space was incredible and had an art show by Art in Flux Harlem called “Soul & Vibe” up on the walls. Here’s one of my favorite pieces, “Flying Lotus Until the Quiet Comes Afro Girl” by Walter Lobyn Hamilton, which is made of real vinyl records!

 "Flying Lotus Until the Quiet Comes Afro Girl" by Walter Lobyn Hamilton

Anyhow, here’s some of my work for the Jersey Journal this week.

The Jersey Journal:

About Summer Dawn Hortillosa

Summer Dawn Hortillosa is a journalist specializing in arts and entertainment. Among other things, she is also an award-winning playwright, director, singer-songwriter and actress. Her work has been seen in The Jersey City Independent, The Jersey Journal and other publications.
This entry was posted in Journalism, Online, Print, Theater and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

