Leaving the Jersey Journal; Published Articles 7/31/15 – 9/4/15

After nearly five years of covering Hudson County arts and news, I am sad to say I will no longer be working for The Jersey Journal.

On Sept. 4, the Journal laid off myself and several others. I’ve enjoyed my time working for the JJ, which kickstarted my journalism career and introduced me to many fantastic people.

I am mostly heartbroken that I will be unable to continue covering my beloved burgeoning arts scene. It is the rich, diverse and ambitious culture of this county that makes it special. And I believe it is this culture that will carry us into a new era of prosperity.

I can see Jersey City and Hudson County as premier destinations holding their own besides big sis New York. I see music venues, I see the arrival of serious art collectors and captive audiences, I see movement outward into our poorer neighborhoods that I hope will be their salvation, when enough people on the block finally lobby for grocery stores, for better schools and for better lives.

And I see myself being part of this Renaissance. I am going to focus more on my work as an arts event producer and theater artist. I want to be more directly involved in the wonderful things growing here and I can’t wait to make it happen with you all. Thank you for reading my work, for sharing my work and doing your own part in making Hudson County a great place to live.

Please send art updates and info to my editor Lois DiTommaso at lditommaso@jjournal.com.

Anyhow, here’s the last of my articles for the JJ.

News:

Arts/Entertainment:

About Summer Dawn Hortillosa

Summer Dawn Hortillosa is a journalist specializing in arts and entertainment. Among other things, she is also an award-winning playwright, director, singer-songwriter and actress. Her work has been seen in The Jersey City Independent, The Jersey Journal and other publications.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

